October 6, 2011 – Beer Keg Tags will be required on all beer kegs starting November 1, 2011. The legislation which was passed into law last year requires that the tags be placed on all beer kegs that hold 4 gallons or more. The tags will be provided free of charge to licensees. Order forms are available on the Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) website.
MLCC Chairman Andy Deloney said, “We fit as many tags in one booklet as possible to make it more efficient for licensees when ordering tags from us. There are 50 tags per booklet and the form is concise and quick.”
Licensees selling kegs of beer for off premises consumption capable of holding 4 gallons or more must do the following:
- Require the purchaser to provide a valid form of identification confirming the purchaser to be at least 21 year of age. If purchaser is not at least 21 years of age do not proceed. Such identification shall contain a photograph, signature of the subject’s date of birth. (College or university identification is not valid identification.)
- Fill out a Keg Registration/Receipt making sure the information is correct.
- List type of ID, ID number and date of birth on the bottom of Registration Card.
- After you have filled out the Keg Registration Card, have the purchaser fill out and sign the Card. You may sell up to 4 kegs to the purchaser using the small sequential tags located to the right of the Card. Purchaser must initial designated area on each sequential tag used. If more than 4 kegs are sold you must use a new card.
- Peel the registrations tags (yellow keg sticker) from the book and attach it to the side of the keg near the top. Keg surfaces must be dry. It is best to apply the registration tags (yellow tag sticker) while the keg is in the cooler.
- Keg retailers shall maintain complete and accurate records of all keg registrations of the sale of kegs at the licensed establishment for a period of one year. Moreover, such records regarding keg sales shall, during reasonable hours, be open to inspection by the Commission, MLCC Investigators or other law enforcement officers.
- To order additional Keg Registration Card Books, please visit our website at www.michigan.gov/lcc and fill out the LCC-3005 form located under Executive Services.
According MCL 436.2030, the retailer will not return the keg deposit to the purchaser of beer if the tag is not attached to the keg upon its return. The individual signing the receipt does so with the understanding that he/she agrees not to damage the keg and not to remove or alter the attached identification tag. The individual signing the receipt does so with the understanding that he/she is subject to liability of serving the beer to any minor. A person not licensed as a retailer or wholesaler by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission and who removes the keg identification tag, allows the removal of the keg, and/or provides false information in the purchase of the beer keg is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500, or both.