Date(s) - 04/01/2019
MORE CHANGES TO MICHIGAN’S MINIMUM WAGE LAWS
Thanks to MichBusiness Champions Butzel Long and DKSS CPAs + Advisors for providing this information.
On December 13, 2018, the Michigan Legislature amended the Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act. The amended Act substantially slows the increase to $12.00 per hour over a longer period of time and largely negates the changes to calculating the minimum wage for tipped employees. The amendments to the Act will not be effective until March 2019.
What is the minimum wage now?
The current minimum wage in Michigan is $9.25 per hour. Beginning in late March 2019/early April (the exact date is not yet known), the minimum wage will increase to $9.45 per hour. The minimum wage will then increase every year through 2030 as set forth below. The minimum wage increase will be delayed in any year in which the Michigan unemployment rate is 8.5% or higher.
Calendar year 2020 – $9.65
Calendar year 2021 – $9.87
Check with your legal, accounting or payroll professionals for updates. Or call Rebecca Davies, Butzel Long at 313-225-7028 or Jean Stenger, DKSS CPAs + Advisors at 248-649-3400.